Five Indiana Counties Increase Tax Rates as of October 1, 2022


The Indiana Department of Revenue updated Departmental Notice #1 which assists withholding agents in determining the correct amount of Indiana county income tax to withhold from an employee’s wages by providing the tax rate for each county.

Five counties have increased their rates effective October 1, 2022. The changes are highlighted below. For a complete list of county tax rates, please visit

CountyNew RatePrevious Rate
Boone County1.7%1.5%
Johnson County1.4%1.2%
Knox County1.7%1.2%
LaPorte County1.45%0.95%
Monroe County2.035%1.345%

County taxes should be withheld based on the employee’s Indiana county of residence as of January 1st of the tax year. If an employee lives out-of-state, but works in an Indiana county, then county taxes should be withheld based on the Indiana county of employment.

If you would like additional information or to discuss the topics mentioned, please contact Chaleise J. Fleming, CPA, CFE at 317-240-4485 or